Unlawful Possession, Sales, Transportation, Distribution or Cultivation of Marijuana

Marijuna leaf It is a felony-misdemeanor to possess any form of concentrated cannabis [hash]. If convicted the sentence is commitment to a county jail for up to 1 year, a fine of not more than $500, or both, or a prison commitment of either 16 months, 2 or 3 years.1

It is an infraction to possess not more the 28.5 grams (1 ounce) of marijuana. If convicted the sentence is a fine not to exceed $100.2

It is a misdemeanor to possess more than 28.5 grams (1 ounce) of marijuana. If convicted the sentence is a commitment to a county jail for up to 6 months, a fine of not more than $500, or both.3

It is a misdemeanor for a person 18 and over to possess 28.5 grams (1 ounce) or less of marijuana in any school, or on any school grounds during the hours during which the school is open, if the school is one which includes kindergarten through the 12th grade. If convicted the punishment is commitment to a county jail for not more than 10 days, a fine of not more than $500, or both.4

If a minor under the age of 18 possesses 28.5 grams (1 ounce) or more of marijuana in any school, or on any school grounds during the hours which the school is open, and the school is one which includes kindergarten through the 12th grade, the punishment is a fine of not more than $250 for a first offense, if there is a previous violation then the punishment is a fine of not more than $500, or commitment to juvenile hall, forestry camp, or secure juvenile home for not more than 10 days, or both.5

It is a felony to cultivate, plant, harvest, or process marijuana. If convicted the sentence is commitment to state prison for 16 months, 2 or 3 years [or probation].6

It is a felony to possess for sale any marijuana. If convicted the sentence is commitment to a state prison for 16 months, 2 or 3 years [or probation].7

It is a felony to transport, to import into the state, to sell, to furnish, to administer, or to give away any marijuana, or to offer to do any of these offenses, or to attempt to commit any of these offenses. If convicted the sentence is commitment to state prison for 2, 3 or 4 years [or probation].8

It is a misdemeanor to give away, to offer to give away, to transport, to offer to transport, or to attempt to transport not more than 28.5 grams of marijuana other than concentrated marijuana. If convicted the sentence is a fine of not more than $100. If a person is arrested for this offenses and can produce satisfactory identification, they shall be released on their promise to appear by signing a citation, and shall not be booked.9





1 Section 1170(h) of the California Penal Code; Section 11357(a) of the California Health and Safety Code
2 Section 11357(b) of the California Health and Safety Code.
3 Section 11357(c) of the California Health and Safety Code.
4 Section 11357(d) of the California Health and Safety Code
5 Section 11357(e) of the California Health and Safety Code
6 Section 1170(h) of the California Penal Code; Section 11358 of the California Health and Safety Code.
7 Section 1170(h) of the California Penal Code; Section 11359 of the California Health and Safety Code.
8 Section 1170(h) of the California Penal Code; Section 11360(a) of the California Health and Safety Code
9 Section 11360(b) of the California Health and Safety Code